Kyle's Blog
Welcome to my zone

On the verge of Berlinhood

It’s November, and I see this as a good opportunity to look ahead to what is a big month in my life. Only two weeks remain of British residence and I’m really looking forward to embarking upon this ‘new chapter’. This also means I only have 14 days left to really push forward with job applications and arrangingĀ  permanent accommodation, which I have been doing for the past few weeks. Thusfar it has gone well in the sense that I have much reason to be optimistic. There appears to be plenty of jobs about and I’ve enough responses to give me hope. I’m also certain that we will find a flat that will suit us. We do at least have somewhere to stay for the first two weeks we are there however. We’re renting a flat – the keys for which arrived today – which actually belongs to a former lecturer of mine.

To be honest, it’s a shame we won’t be in Berlin sooner. For instance, this Thursday U2 are playing a free concert at the Brandenburg Gate. Not only this, but the MTV Europe Music Awards 2009 are also taking place on this day. Likewise it would have been nice to have been a part of the celebrations in Berlin on the 9th November 2009 – the 20 year anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Me at the Berlin Wall (Feb '08)

Even so, as much as I would really look forward to such events, they all pale in comparison to finally seeing Katja again. It’s hard to believe that I haven’t seen her in almost 5 months. It’s a long time to wait, but it will all be worth it in the end. I guess our whole relationship, which will be 1 year 9 months old come this Friday, has been all about waiting for the time when we’ll finally be living together. Similarly, I suppose you could look at the visits we’ve payed one another as ways of making the wait for this time easier (though certainly not easy).

Katja and I in Riga (Sept '08)

I would be lying if I were to say that I wasn’t at all anxious about this change. Nobody knows what the future holds, and there is always a chance, be it big or small, that something may not go to plan. In spite of this, I’m absolutely confident that I am making the right decision. My relationship with Katja has already shown that it can withstand difficult situations that I’m sure would trouble many marraiges. I know we can and will make it work.

One Response to “On the verge of Berlinhood”

  1. Goodluck mate!! Will be thinking of you and Katja, and you never know, we may end up in the same city sooner than you think. I am also about to embark a new chapter, or I like to think of it as more of a prelude to bigger things, with my move down to Canberra (the boring capital of australia) to work for while. But I will definitely see you both in 2010 at some point that I promise!! Good luck and may you find success soon!


Leave a Reply

